Within Temptation – The Heart Of Everything

You know what’s funny? Almost three years after its release this album took off in the U.S. because of one small use of the song All I Need in the television show The Vampire Diaries.
What is even more strange is that the CD store that I frequent had to ask me why Within Temptation CD’s began flying off the shelves. Stranger than that even is I knew why and I have never watched an episode of The vampire Diaries because I do not watch television and had never heard of the show until WT‘s song was featured on it. Weird? I know.

The Heart Of Everything is Within Temptation‘s 5th studio release (counting the E.P. The Dance); the bands 4th full length album.
I have listened to WT since Mother Earth (2nd) and the band has been moving towards a less symphonic sound and to a more guitar oriented sound with each release. They do claim that they wanted to achieve a balancing, if you will, between the symphony and the band and that they did that with this release.
All critiquing aside, out of the 11 songs presented (I am not counting a certain song actually released on The Silent Force. And, I am counting What Have You Done only once) there are nine songs that I never tire of listening to.
This is/was a major breakthrough release for the band as it saw them chart in the U.S., achieving #103 on Billboard 200, #16 on Billboard Hard Rock, and #1 on Billboard Heatseekers. Although they have not broken the 100 yet, there next release, from what I have heard of it, might break this band in a big way in the U.S. and that is hard to do unless you started on Disney or Idol/esque type shows.

My only gripe about THoE is the lack of lead guitar playing. What there is of it is buried under rhythym or doesn’t climax. But, Robert Westerholt (guitar) and Sharon Den Adel (vocals) are very good at songwriting and their vision, to borrow a lyric from Jon Bon Jovi, is so big any blind man could see.

Sharon Den Adel is a self trained vocalist and her style is fearless (see the DVD Black Symphony. Seriously, one concert and she sang over 20 songs). In my opinion, this lady has no problem being touted with the likes of Tarja Turunen, Floor Jansen, Simone Simons, and Liv Kristine Espenæs Krull; all extremely talented metal vocalists.

The Heart Of Everything track listing (Roadrunner Records release):

01: The Howling
02: What Have You Done (featuring Keith Caputo) (U.S. single edit)
03: Frozen
04: Our Solemn Hour
05: The Heart Of Everything
06: Hand Of Sorrow
07: The Cross
08: Final Destination
09: All I Need
10: Stand My Ground (previously released on TSF)
11: The Truth Beneth The Rose
12: Forgiven
13: What Have You Done (extended version)

Also, if you do not know this band you can check on YouTube.


Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s